The renovation of the old site of Xinhua Daily completed and opened for trial
The official trial opening of the former headquarters of the Xinhua Daily.
CHONGQING (CQNEWS) -- Recently, the former headquarters of Xinhua Daily, located in Hutouyan Village, Hualongqiao, Yuzhong District, Chongqing, was officially renovated and opened on a trial basis. 5 buildings of bamboo and adobe structures built on the mountain were used to edit, print and distribute Xinhua Daily from August 13, 1939 to February 28, 1947.
On January 11, 1938, Xinhua Daily was launched in Wuhan, then moved to Chongqing due to the defeat of Wuhan, and in 1939, it was moved to Hualongqiao of Hutouyan due to the bombing by Japanese planes, where it was co-located with the weekly magazine “The Masses”. Here Xinhua Daily was published and distributed for more than 2,700 issues.
The reporter saw in the former headquarters of Xinhua Daily that there were five buildings of bamboo and adobe structures, including journalists’ studios, typography rooms and dormitories. After the renovation, the former headquarters basically refers to the pattern back then.
On the first day of the trial opening, the interpreter is explaining to the visitors.
Based on historical pictures and video materials, the exhibition “The Light of Xinhua Shines in China – Xinhua Daily, the Masses Weekly” was made for the first time, and more than 30 objects and 180 precious historical photos were displayed. The visitors were also able to interact with the printing area for experience. (Translated by Wang Junli, Fathom Language Limited)
The indoor venue that has been restored.